Posted by: kellermax | May 4, 2009

Waiting for wind

Last week I spent in northern Germany. There I was introduced into the process of testing how wind-farms interact with the grid – which will be my new part-time job.

I have been hired to perform these tests, which are required to prove that the wind-energy unit can, in case of a fault in the grid, supply the grid with what it needs, power-wise.

From next week onward I will be – when on site – in charge of operating the test-circuit, performing the tests and record and store the data.  I’ll be taking turns with two others, so there will be enough time to finish university, which (it sucks, big time) I STILL haven’t finished YET.

So this is going to be my first real-life engineering experience!!

Me in full gear and with a voltage probe for 10 to 30 kV

Me in full gear and with a voltage probe for 10 to 30 kV

And that’ s how I look like, on-site. I wear safety boots, too, of course. The unit in the background isn’t the one being tested.

Leave a Reply

Categories

